#### Focal Points (1858-1947)

#### All the viceroys at a glance

-- DR. PRIYANKA SHARMA, ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR (HISTORY) DDU

## Lord Canning (1856-62)

- Queen Victoria's proclamation and passing of the India act 1858.
- Doctrine of Lapse started by Lord Dalhousie was officially withdrawn in 1859.
- Foundation of the universities act Calcutta, Bombay and Madras in 1857.
- □ Indigo revolt in Bengal in 1858-60.
- White Mutiny by the European troops in 1859.
- □ Bahadur Shah was sent to Rangoon.

#### Lord Elgin (1862-63)

□ Suppressed the Wahabi movement. Sir John Lawrence (1864-69) □ Followed the policy of non-interference in Afghanistan, famous as Policy of Masterly In Activity. □ Set up high courts at Bombay, Calcutta and Madras in 1865.

# Lord Lytton (1876-80)

- Passing of the Royal Title Act of 1876 and the assumption of the title Empress of India by Queen Victoria.
- Holding of Delhi Durbar in 1877.
- Passing of Vernacular Press Act of 1878.
- Passing of Arms act of 1878.
- Lowering of the maximum age from 21 years to 19 years for the civil services examination , thus constraining Indians from entering civil services.
- Appointment of the first Famine commission under Sir Richard Strachey.
- Policy of Masterly in Activity in Afghanistan replaced by forward policy.
- Started statutory civil services.

## Lord Ripon (1880-84)

- Passing of the first Factory Act in 1881 for the welfare of child labour.
- □ Repeal of Vernacular Press Act in 1882.
- □ Foundation of Local Self-Government (1882-passing of Local Self Government acts in various provinces during 1883-85)
- □ Holding of first Decennial and regular census in 1881 which put the total population at 254 millions.
- □ Financial decentralisation in 1882.
- □ Appointment of an education commission under Sir William Hunter in 1882.
- □ The Ilbert Bill Controversy, in 1883-84 relating to a bill framed by the law member of the viceroys council , Sir C.P Ilbert which abolished judicial judicial disqualification based on race.
- □ Famine code in 1883.
- □ His famous statement , "Judge me by my works and not by my words".

## Lord Dufferin (1884-88)

- During his period, Congress was formed in 1885.
- □ He commented on the Congress "a microscope minority in 1888.

#### Lord Lansdowne (1888-94)

Passed the Age of Consent Act in 1891 which forbade the marriage of a girl below 12.

#### Lord Elgin-II (1894-99)

Appointed lyli commission to look into the cause of famines in a part of Rajasthan.

### Lord Curzon (1899-1905)

- □ Partition of Bengal 1905.
- □ Appointment of a police commission under Sir Andrew Frazer in 1902-03).
- Creation of a new Department of Commerce and Industry.
- Passing of Ancient Monuments Protection Act in 1904 for the preservation of India's cultural heritage.
- □ Appointment of MacDonell commission of famine in 1900.
- □ Appointed Moncrief commission on irrigation in 1902.

## Lord Minto-I (1905-10)

- Appointed S.P Sinha as a member of viceroys council.
- Passing of Indian Councils Act commonly known as, Minto-Morley reforms which brought about a limited increase in the involvement of Indians in the governance of British India.

## Lord Hardinge (1910-16)

- Coronation Durbar in 1911 at Delhi in the honour of George V.
- □ A separate state of Bihar and Orissa was created in 1911.
- A bomb was thrown on his carriage at Chandni Chowk in Delhi in 1912.

#### Lord Chelmsford (1916-21)

- □ Foundation of women's university at Puna in 1916.
- □ Lucknow packed 1916.
- □ Khilafat movement.
- **Emergence of Gandhi as a National leader.**
- □ Passing of Rowlatt Act.
- □ Jaliawala bagh tragedy 1919.
- □ Non-Cooperation movement.
- □ Third Afghan war and treaty of Rawalpindi.
- □ August declaration.
- □ Montagu-Chelmsford reform.
- □ Hunter committee was constituted on Jaliawala Bagh massacre.

## Lord Reading (1921-26)

- □ Moplah Rebellion 1921.
- □ Foundation of Swaraj party 1923.
- □ Rise of Communal politics.
- Foundation of Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh(RSS by K.B Hedgewar in 1925)
- □ Kakori train conspiracy 1925.
- Beginning of Indianisation of the officers cadre in the Indian army.
- Railway budget was separated from general budget in 1925.
- Sandhurst committee on Army reforms was appointed in 1925.
- □ Lee commission on public service was appointed in 1924.
- □ Young Hilton committee on currency was formed in 1926.

#### Lord Irwin (1926-31)

- Popularly known as Christian Viceroy.
- □ Visit of Simon commission in 1927 to investigate the progress of the governance scheme.
- Appointment of the Indian states commission under Harcourt Butler for the establishment of better relations between Indian state and central government(1927).
- □ Motilal Nehru report (1928) for dominion status.
- Deepawali declaration of 1929 that India would be granted Dominion status.
- Formulation of 14 points by Jinnah to safe guard the interests of the Muslims.
- Royal commission on Indian labour was appointed in 1929.
- Sharda Act was passed in 1929- marriage of girl below 14 and boy below 18 was prohibited.

## Lord Willington (1931-36)

- □ Second round table conference in 1931.
- Civil Disobedience movement-2<sup>nd</sup> phase (1931-34)
- □ Communal award and Poona Pact 1932.
- Burma and Eden were separated from British empire in 1935.
- Orissa, Bihar and Sind were made new states in 1935.
- Muslim conference was founded in Kashmir in 1932 and renamed as National Conference in 1938, it's important leaders were Sheikh Abdullah and P.N Bajaj.

## Lord Linlithgow (1936-43)

- □ Passing of the India Act 1935.
- □ Provincial elections 1937.
- **Beginning of the second World War 1939.**
- □ Jinnah's two nation theory 1940.
- □ August offer 1940; Congress passed a resolution at Ramgarh session of March 1940, in which it offered its support in war provided a provisional national government at centre. The government response by Linlithgow is called August offer.
- □ Cripps proposal 1942, in which it was proposed that after the war, steps would be taken to set up an elected body with the task of making the constitution of India and India would be given a dominion status after the war. Congress and Muslim League both rejected the proposals. Gandhi called the Cripps proposals as "as pose dated check drawn on a failing bank".
- **Quit India movement August 1942.**

#### Lord Wavell (1943-47)

- Bengal famine of 1942-43 causing heavy casualities and estimated 1.5 to 3 million people.
- Rajgopalachari formula of 1944.
- Gandhi-Jinnah talks 1944.
- Wavell plan June 1945 and Shimla conference in which Congress was represented by Maulana Azad.
- Royal Indian mutiny 1946.
- Cabinet missions arrival in 1946 to devise a machinery to draw up the constitution of Independent India and make arrangements for Interim government.
- □ Interim government was formed September 2, 1946.
- Announcement for Independence of India by June, 1948 by British prime minister, Atlee(Feb 20, 1947)

# Lord Mountbatten (1947-48)

- Made it clear to the princely states that they should not be granted separate independence and they will have to join either India or Pakistan.
- His plan to make India free is known as 3<sup>rd</sup> June plan.
- Independence and partition of India